ClickUp Members vs Guests – the differences and how to best utilize ClickUp roles for every project.
- Go to app.clickup.com
- Click on the three dots on the bottom left corner.
- Click Sharing and Permission. You will find your members and guests there.
- The main difference between members and guests is that members can create spaces, folders, lists, and tasks, they can share things with guests and other members, etc.
- Guests on the free forever plan, they can see everything, and we can’t change their permissions. But guests on the paid plans, you can change permissions and their level of use, etc.
Watch Amalie Show You How To Utilize Members vs. Guests in ClickUp:
Read The ClickUp Members vs Guests Video Transcript
Hi, I’m Amalie with Systematic Excellence Consulting. And today I’m going to go over the differences between members and guests inside of ClickUp.
I’m just in one of our test accounts here so there’s not a lot of people in here, but I can still show you the differences. So the main difference between the member and the guest is a member is a paid subscription on the platform. So it’s someone that you pay for. Along with yourself, or if you add someone and you pay for them, that’s the main difference.
Now, there are some differences in what they’re allowed to do inside of ClickUp. For members, they can create spaces, folders, lists and tasks, they get access to all public spaces. And they can see everyone in the workspace, they can share things with guests, and other members. They can’t add new members, but they can share things with other members that are part of the organization. They can make spaces, folders, lists, tasks private. So they can actually set things to be private. But only if they’ve created either the space, the folder, the list or the task, or if they’re the owner of the item. Alright, so by creating it, they become the owner of it.
And then guests, this test account is on the free forever plan. So with the free forever plan, we’re not able to change the permissions for guests. I went over the differences between the plans in previous videos, which I’ll link to below. So you can check those out if you have questions.
But for guests with the free plan, they see everything essentially. But if you have one of the paid plans, then you can change the permissions. And so you can see here what the different permissions are. So right now this guest has full access, they can create tasks, but you can’t change them to just a view only, or comment or edit.
Now if you had one of the paid plans, you would be able to select their level of use. So whether you just want them to be able to read, so that they can comment or edit a task. Or if they comment, then they can also change the status and assignees have a task and editing allows them to, they can edit, but they’re not able to create tasks.
Now again, this is on the free forever plan. So with that any guests you add has access to everything. But those are the major differences.
The member has a lot more flexibility and being able to create and change things.
Whereas a guest, they’re able to work in specific areas that you share with them. Now, if you add a guest, they’re gonna be in whichever space or list or folder or tasks that you add them to. And again, with the free plan, they get access to everything. But when you have a paid plan, then you can change that.
So maybe you just want them to have access to a specific task versus the whole list or the whole folder. And again, for members, you’re able to do the same thing, you can limit their access, you can make things private from them, unless you want to give them access to everything.
So those are the biggest differences between members and guests inside of ClickUp. Again, my name is Amalie, I’m in Systematic Excellence Consulting and if you are looking for additional support one-on-one, or even looking for training or figuring out the best way to use ClickUp, feel free to book a call with the link below. And make sure you subscribe to the channel to catch my future videos. Thank you
More ClickUp Tips
- There’s a reason why this plan is called ClickUp unlimited – see all you can do with it!
- Do you know what ClickUp members can and cannot do?
- Get to know the differences between ClickUp Unlimited vs. Business
- Learn how to delete a ClickUp account you don’t need anymore.
ClickUp Resources And Services
Get Started With ClickUp
We love ClickUp so much we are affiliates! This means we get a small commission for people who sign up for a paid subscription using our link (at no additional cost to you, of course!)
One small step getting organized with ClickUp, one large leap forward for your business.
Streamlining your business operations with ClickUp brings reduced overhead and increased productivity. Plan, prioritize and implement effectively so you get the most out of your business and your team.
What could you do with an extra day a week?
Need a little focused, one-on-one help with ClickUp? Book a free discovery call and let’s explore how we can help.
Need It Done Fast?
Have a project or system you’d like set up in ClickUp? We offer Dedicated Workdays doing just that in one full highly-focused day.
The day begins with your goal and ends with a custom, ready-to-go solution so you and your team can get back to business.
Book a free discovery call and let’s explore how to get you from where you are now to where you want to be with your business, fast.